Stages of Sleep

 |   Prabakaran Thirumalai

There are five stage of sleep which alternates from one to another during the sleep. These stages of sleep are differentiated by the depth of the sleep and the wave patterns detected with an EEG.

stage of sleep

The five stages of sleep are as follows:

  1. Stage 1 Sleep: The first stage of sleep is characterized by theta waves, which are greater in amplitude and slower in frequency.
  2. Stage 2 Sleep: This stage is also characterized by theta waves but with higher frequency. Both stage 1 and stage 2 sleep are comparatively light stages of sleep. When people are awakened during any one of these sleep stages, they feel like they have not been asleep at all.
  3. Stage 3 and 4 Sleep: This sleep stage is characterized by delta waves, the slowest and highest amplitude waves during sleep. These two stages are often mentioned as delta sleep. Distinguishing between stage 3 and stage 4 is difficult. Stage 3 sleep is defined by delta waves occurring less than 50% of the time and stage 4 sleep is characterized by delta waves happening more than 50% of the time. Delta sleep is our deepest sleep. It is very hard to wake during delta sleep. If awakened during delta sleep, they usually are disoriented.
  4. Stage 5 Sleep: Stage 5 sleep is characterized by rapid eye movement called REM Sleep. During the REM sleep, pulse and heart beat is faster with faster eye movement.

About Prabakaran Thirumalai 417 Articles
Blogger on topics including Life Skills such as Learning, Thinking, Emotional Intelligence, Motivation, and Social Skills.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.